Street Harassment

I never experienced any extensive form of street harassment. I always got honked at, whistled at, etc. while walking down the street.  It never really seemed to bother me since it was so common and coming from a small town where nothing bad ever happens it never creeped me out or anything.

However, I do have an experience that I’ll never forget. I was probably in middle school; my friends and I were walking back home from Burger King. It was a nice stroll until random guys honked at us. Additionally, they had a blow horn and they opened the door of the moving car. It scared me because it came out of nowhere. Then they started to yell inappropriate things to us, which I found very rude to say to girls.

I didn’t find it as a HUGE deal at the time however we were very young and now it did seem kind of creepy.

Leave a Reply

